‘General Hospital’ News: Congratulations GH Writing Team – Wins at 68th WGA Awards

'General Hospital' News: Congratulations GH Writing Team - Wins at 68th WGA Awards ‘General Hospital’ (GH) has just won the Daytime Drama category of the 68th annual Writers Guild Awards this evening. This is the ABC’s soap opera win, for the second year in a row, beating out the other nominee, CBS’s ‘The Bold and the Beautiful’.

GH was nominated for the episode celebrating the soap’s 52nd anniversary that aired on April 1st and 2nd, 2015. Using black and white film and dressing current cast members in wardrobe of the 60’s, the following cast members took on the roles of long ago favorites, John Beradino, Emily McLaughlin, and Roy Thinnes to recreate scenes from the show’s very first episode that aired on that April day in 1963:

  • Jason Thompson (Dr. Patrick Drake) became Dr. Steve Hardy
  • Rebecca Herbst (Elizabeth Webber-Spencer) became Nurse Jessie Brewer
  • Ryan Carnes (Lucas Jones) became Dr. Phil Brewer
  • Laura Wright (Carly Corinthos) became Lena Eckert Spencer
  • Anthony Geary (Luke Spencer) became the drunkard father Tim Spencer

A casting call was put out in early 2015 for the roles of “teenage boy and teenage girl”. Newcomer Guy Wilson was chosen to do double duty as Young Luke Spencer and the Spencer’s cousin, Young Bill Eckert.

Newcomer Chloe Lanier was chosen to portray the part of Young Patricia Spencer and she and Guy did remarkable jobs with the limited time they had to give the 14 yr. old Luke and the 18 yr. old Patricia the depth of character and to portray the historical events with belief.

Film star Dee Wallace (Mother from E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial) was cast as adult Patricia Spencer and was instrumental in closing out the storyline of Luke Spencer’s break with reality and what the traumatic event from his young years was and what about it was responsible for his “dark moods”.

The winning GH team included: Writers: Ron Carlivati, Anna Theresa Cascio, Andrea Archer Compton, Suzanne Flynn, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Daniel James O’Connor, Elizabeth Page, Jean Passanante, Katherine Schock, Scott Sickles, Chris Van Etten.

The ceremony, which is currently taking place simultaneously in New York and Los Angeles, is still in progress.

Share your thoughts in the Comments section below, on our Facebook Page, or join our Facebook Group for Discussion.

You might also like More from author

1 Comment

  1. K J Toney says

    Great job Victoria – enjoyed reading all the info about the awards – lots of good background info. Thanx and I have been a GH watcher since the first episode.

Leave A Reply